feels rant: the ox-bow incident

{Yep, it’s been a while since there’ve been any posts on here besides ‘fanvid friday’ ones – which totally count, btw – so I’m here with some very ranty feels, although since it’s not about a really well known movie, I doubt anyone will reeeeally get it.  HOWEVER.  If you’ve watched TO-BI and been just as emotionally traumatized by it as I was, PLEASE comment and let me know and we can have a good, feelsy session about the whole thing.  ‘Kay?}

164.  The Ox-Bow Incident (1943)  Sheriff: God better have mercy on you. You won't get any from me.

I think this whole thing is going to be more like a bunch of mini-rants, completely disjointed, and they probably won’t make a lot of sense.  I just need to vent right now and get it all off my mind, because when you watch something a month ago and you still think about it EVERY SINGLE, STUPID DAY, it’s time to splash it all over a blog or a journal or an email.  And that’s what Ashley and Jane and I all wanted feelsy feels to be for in the first place, so it works. 🙂

~

Okay, first of all, pretty much every tragic death in movies/books/TV shows happens when The Person is married.  Kids (or a kid) are a special, heartbreaking bonus.  Oh, and you get triple bonus points with whipped cream and a cherry on top if said kids are really young.  Because then the mom has to take care of them all by herself and they’ll never know their father, etc., etc.  So, yeah, having the kids be babies is really something special.  AND THAT IS EXACTLY THE SITUATION WITH THE MARTIN FAMILY.  Half of me wants to cry and the other half wants to reach through the screen and kill Tetley.  UGH.

~

The members of the ‘posse’ were all complete and total idiots. (I mean, besides Davies, Gil, Sparks, Art…).  First of all, if Martin or one of the others had rustled cattle and killed Kinkaid, they wouldn’t be sleeping.  They’d be riding as hard and as fast as they could to get out of the county (or out of the state) before a posse caught up to them.  And if they DID stop, there would be at least one person left on watch. (And don’t try to tell me that they did leave someone on guard, but he fell asleep – all of three of them were snugly wrapped up and not in any position to keep a look-out.)  Mapes and Tetley and Farnley and Grier were all IDIOTS.

~

Gerald Tetley didn’t whip Martin’s horse out from under him.  DO YOU KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS???  I just…I don’t even want to think about it, let alone talk about it, but let me just say that there’s a reason Farnley shot him. (Twice.  Which was SO, SO uncalled for.)  I’M TEARING UP JUST THINKING ABOUT THE WHOLE THING.  If only Dana Andrews wasn’t such an amazing actor.  Then I wouldn’t care about Martin so much, which means that I wouldn’t have so many feels about the movie, which means I’D BE INFINITELY HAPPIER RIGHT ABOUT NOW.  If you’ve never watched TO-BI, DON’T DO IT.  It’ll shatter your heart, especially if you’re a fangirl, because we tend to get super emotionally involved in Things, right?

~

Why on earth did Dana Andrews not get nominated for Best Supporting Actor here??? (He should’ve WON too.)

~

Excuse me while I go wallow in emotions. (Not kidding.  I’ll totally go do that.)  Now, if anybody’s worried, I’m not going into major depression over this film, but whenever I think about it, it does give me a pause.  A rather sad pause, too.  I mean, just screenshots from the thing make my throat clench up and I start to feel a bit teary. (And don’t even get me started on The Letter.  Nope.  Not even going to go there.)

Eva

vent your feels here.

